Woke Up, It Was a Chelsey Morning

picture-3

That’s right. I ran my name this morning. The route is a 12-mile spelling of my name, but I ended up doing 14 miles on account of the fact that I had to run from where the 155 bus ended to the start of the C, and I missed my turn on the H, because sometimes maps lie. (FYI–Devon and Central Park do not, in fact, intersect due to a CVS Pharmacy roadblock).

The running back and forth and around and what not to spell my name was actually more entertaining than I though it would be. It wasn’t until I got to the Y that I started to ask myself, Why? Why run my name? Eh, why not? I first mapped this run out with the idea that I would run it on my birthday in celebration of myself. But I had the Lakefront 50k race to run on the 4th (the day after my birthday), and I didn’t think that doing a 12-14 mile run the day before a 31 mile race was that good of an idea. And then I was tired Sunday, it was snowy and gross on Monday (and who wants to wait for a bus to go on a run in that?). So alas, four days after my birthday I finally do my birthday-celebrate-me-run.

When I woke up and checked to see how close the bus was (which, FYI again–CTA bustracker does not track the 155 yet, so I had to resort to looking at the pdf file schedule, which just seems so damn old school now), I debated if I wanted to run with my iPod, because music and public transportation go so well together. Especially at 6:30am. But my iPod was drained of battery, so no music on this run.

But that got me thinking. Which got me singing. I totally should have made a Chelsey playlist to go along with my Chelsey run!

How far can I take this shit?

But what songs have Chelsey in it? There’s the obvious Joni Mitchell one that was immediately stuck in my head before I actually even started running. There’s also that really amazing Belle and Sebastian song, but I couldn’t remember any of the lyrics and only knew that my name was somewhere in it. Which then got me singing “Say My Name” by Destiny’s Child (of which I only know the chorus, and that got real annoying real fast). What else?

So I challenge you, my little blog readers, to come up with a Chelsey playlist, or a “my name” playlist. The length of this list needs to be between 1.5 and 2 hours to cover the whole run (more, if you want to include the bus ride from my house). That’s a lot of songs.

Set go.

Who says you can’t spice up your running? Which brings me back to the question of, Why?

I don’t know. Why not? If I need to run 14 miles, might as well spell something with it. Maybe I’ll start running haikus with my long runs. Would that require a haiku playlist? Now, that might be boring. I wouldn’t really suggest running to audio books, let alone audio haikus.

Then again, I’m pretty much game for anything new.

Ok. Make me that playlist!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Cheryl said,

    That is SUCH a great idea – very cool! 🙂

  2. 2

    Pam said,

    That Concrete Blonde song “Joey” could easily be re-recorded as “Chelsey.” Do that. Just get someone to re-record songs so that they have Chelsey in them—in other words, correctly. And please have them also correct Van Halen’s Panama to be Pamela.

  3. 3

    Mindy Clammer said,

    Chelsey: My song from the 60’s that you could substitute your name for is: “Windy”: Who’s walking down the streets of the city, smiling at eveybody she sees, who’s reaching out to capture the moment…everyone knows it’s Windy (Mindy or Chelsey). I’ll sing it for you when I see you this week. HA!

    Love, mom


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

